Realizations: Keeping Up Good Vibes

“Like, I feel like every year has a new energy, and I feel like this year is really about, like, the year of just realizing stuff. And everyone around me, we’re all just, like, realizing things.” – Kylie Jenner, 2016

I’m a year late to the realization party, but nonetheless, I’m realizing things in 2017. It must be the new energy, as Kylie Jenner so eloquently put it. This week was full of wonderful realizations and inspiration. The first part of my realizations happened while I was sitting in class, not paying attention, and dreaming of all the other things I could be doing with my time. I realized I was in a sad state of boredom. I was living my days in a cyclical pattern of school, work, and extra-curricular activities. I had absolutely no time to do anything new or fun. I was becoming a big bundle of stress, and my good vibes and happy thoughts were diminishing. The second – and the most important – part of my realizations was that I had to do something about the state of boredom I was feeling. It is as if every moment in my life is punctuated with ellipses and full stops, but I need more than that. I want exclamation marks, bursts of excitement and positive energy.

To get out of the slump I’m feeling, I’ve decided to take on a project. My goal for the month of March is to take a bit of time out of my everyday to do something new. It doesn’t have to be big things like skydiving or spontaneously buying plane tickets. It could be little things, such as going to a new coffee shop or reading a book I wouldn’t typically read. I hate to admit it, but I am a creature of habit, and I tend to stick to things I know I like. I’m hoping that by taking on this project, I will feel rejuvenated, and find a new appreciation for everything around me. I’m actually very excited about this, which I think is a step in the right direction!

 

Leave a Reply

