Toronto Staycation: Brunch + Kensington Market

Last week, my university had our reading week. While a lot of my friends were jetting off to really cool places, I was stuck in Toronto working. Usually, this would make me very sad, but we had such amazing weather this past week that I couldn’t complain. I made the most of my week free of classes , and did what Torontonians do best – brunch! I went to 4 different brunch places over the course of the week. It was totally unplanned, but I’m quite pleased with my decisions. In addition to all the brunching, I spent a lot of my time in Kensington market (pictures after the brunch pics). I never get tired of looking at all the cool knick knacks in the little shops, and just sitting in pretty coffee shops. All in all, it was a great week, and even though I stayed in the city, I still felt like I was on a vacation. 

The brunch adventure started off at Lavelle. I got the salmon eggs benny, and my friend got the avocado toast. Both were fantastic! My favourite thing about Lavelle was the view (pictured above). I would spend every spring / summer day here if it didn’t kill my wallet.

torontostaycation-13-of-23torontostaycation-16-of-23torontostaycation-17-of-23

The next brunch stop of the week was Flo’s Diner in Yorkville. Flo’s has a very typical diner vibe, which I enjoyed. Also, their mimosas were basically just wine with a drop of orange juice – how great is that?! This might be my next hungover brunch spot.

torontostaycation-11-of-23

At this point, I thought I’d be done with brunch, but it turns out I wasn’t. The next place I went to was Insomnia. I always like going to Insomnia because of their home fries. The sauce they put on it is absolutely amazing! My mouth is watering right now as I type this. I got their pear and brie grilled cheese, and my friend got their chicken sandwich.

torontostaycation-10-of-23torontostaycation-9-of-23torontostaycation-8-of-23

I figured that I needed to end the week as I started it, aka with more brunch. I ended up going to Colette, which I will never complain about. Colette is always a good idea. It is easily one of my favourite brunch places in Toronto. Their food is amazing, and the service is always top notch.

torontostaycation-12-of-23

 

torontostaycation-20-of-23
Outfit details

unnamed-1unnamedtorontostaycation-18-of-23torontostaycation-22-of-23torontostaycation-23-of-23torontostaycation-5-of-23torontostaycation-4-of-23

unnamed-2
At FIKA cafe

torontostaycation-2-of-23torontostaycation-1-of-23

Leave a Reply

