Patch Shorts DIY

I saw these shorts at Topshop, and fell in love with them. I love the vintage 60s-70s rock and roll vibe that these shorts have, so I’ve decided to recreate them. My journey involved many hours at craft and thrift stores trying to find cool patches to use.

 

IMG_0735

Materials

  • Shorts (These shorts are from H&M, and they were very inexpensive.)
  • Patches (I got mine from thrift stores, Fabric Land, and Michaels)
  • Fabric Glue
  • Scissors
  • Iron (optional)

 

IMG_0734

Step 1:

Arrange your patches anyway you’d like on your shorts.

 

Step 2:

Attach your patches using fabric glue or an iron (if you have iron on patches). Make sure to follow the directions provided in the package of patches you purchase. You can also just use fabric glue for the iron on patches if you would rather not use an iron.

 

Step 3:

Let your patches dry on a flat surface. Make sure you follow the directions written on your bottle of fabric glue. Usually, the dry time for the glue is an entire day. Do not wear your shorts until the glue has dried. Otherwise, the patches will slide off.

IMG_0742

Step 4 (optional):

You can cut the hem of your shorts to create a frayed look. I decided not to do this as I like the length of the shorts as is. What I did do is use my scissors to create rips and frays on the back pocket of my shorts to give it a more worn out look.

 

2 thoughts on “Patch Shorts DIY

Leave a Reply

